naked lunches 

Looks like there’s a lot of love in Palestinian food. Been watching Anthony Bourdain’s indulgent ass non-stop. His genuine obsession with food, culture and politics helps me tolerate his whiteness (William Bourroughs and Joseph Conrad references) when it jumps out. Although I have read Naked Lunch and Heart of Darkness I do not canonize them.

2033b470-3447-446f-8c1e-ffda137d3fb5

He sees through the lens of his experiences but he’s a bit self-aware. His travels still love me. Quebec, Tangier, Congo, Peru…no matter who’s doing the narration and how much we might have told the story differently I still see, hear and taste from my own lens.


To love something is not to own it or become it or even condone it. It is to accept it and enjoy it. Parts Unknown has my whole heart right now.

One Response to “naked lunches ”

Leave a Reply

